NEWS

Old mining in the context of structural change, ground-breaking ceremony for the Waldsiedlung housing estate

With an operating time of almost 80 years, from the start of the first sinking work in the mining shafts in the 1920s to the dismantling of the company buildings at the turn of the millennium, the Grimberg colliery site with the two underground shafts Grimberg 3 and 4 was a central part of the town of Bergkamen, once the largest mining town in Europe.

The Grimberg 3 and Grimberg 4 shafts, at around 1,600 metres and 1,100 metres respectively, are among the deepest shafts in the entire Ruhr region. In 1946, the Grimberg 3 shaft was the scene of the worst German mining accident with over 400 fatalities due to a so-called "firedamp explosion". Mine gas escaping from the deposit mixed with the omnipresent coal dust underground, which ultimately led to the ignition of the explosive mixture. In view of the mine gases still escaping from the shafts, the need for technically qualified protection of the mining shafts is evident.

Today, a new and sustainable residential neighbourhood "Wohnen in der Waldsiedlung" with a total of 120 properties is to be built on the site of the former Grimberg 3/4 mine, with the two secured mine shafts at its centre. The experts from TABERG Ingenieure GmbH planned the collection and controlled discharge of the mine gases escaping from the shafts. For this purpose, the covered shafts Grimberg 3 and 4 were uncovered and covered with a drainage body and a sealing sheet. The rising mine gas can thus be safely contained and discharged in a controlled manner.

The official ground-breaking ceremony with the participation of the project company and the city of Bergkamen took place on 9 November 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NACHRICHTEN

Altbergbau im Rahmen des Strukturwandels, Spatenstich für die Waldsiedlung

Mit einer Betriebszeit von fast 80 Jahren, vom Beginn der ersten Teufarbeiten der Bergbauschächte in den 1920er Jahren bis hin zum Rückbau der Betriebsgebäude um die Jahrtausendwende, war der Zechenstandort Grimberg mit den beiden Tiefbauschächten Grimberg 3 und 4 zentraler Bestandteil der Stadt Bergkamen, der ehemals größten Bergbaustadt Europas.

Die Schächte Grimberg 3 mit rund 1.600 m und Grimberg 4 mit 1.100 m gehören zu den tiefsten Schächten im ganzen Ruhrgebiet. Im Jahr 1946 ereignete sich auf dem Schacht Grimberg 3 das schwerste deutsche Grubenunglück mit über 400 Toten aufgrund einer sogenannten „Schlagwetterexplosion“. Aus der Lagerstätte austretendes Grubengas vermischte sich mit dem untertägig allgegenwärtigen Kohlenstaub; dies führte letztendlich zur Zündung des explosiven Gemisches. In Anbetracht der noch immer aus den Schächten austretenden Grubengase zeigt sich die Notwendigkeit einer fachtechnisch qualifizierten Sicherung der Bergbauschächte.

Heute soll auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Schachtanlage Grimberg 3/4 ein neues und nachhaltiges Wohnquartier „Wohnen in der Waldsiedlung“ mit insgesamt 120 Grundstücken entstehen, in dessen Mitte die beiden gesicherten Bergbauschächte liegen. Die Fachleute der TABERG Ingenieure GmbH planten die Fassung und kontrollierte Ableitung der aus den Schächten austretenden Grubengase. Hierzu wurden die überschütteten Schächte Grimberg 3 und 4 freigelegt und mit einem Drainagekörper sowie einer Dichtbahn abgedeckt. Das aufsteigende Grubengas kann damit sicher gefasst und kontrolliert abgeleitet werden.

Der offizielle Spatenstich unter Beteiligung der Projektgesellschaft und der Stadt Bergkamen fand am 09.11.2023 statt.